A New Home And A New Start

Hello, and welcome to the new look Cypress Branches blog.

After the difficulties of the last 18 months, which has not only seen the family lose both William and his wife Sheila within a year of each other, but also saw me move house and change jobs, I thought it was about time to get the Cypress Branches project back on track.

Although I have been very quiet on the social media front for some time now, Gramps’ novels have rarely been far from my thoughts, and I have been busy tidying up the online presence of the books as well as putting together an action plan for the year ahead.

This new blog, using WordPress instead of Blogger, is part of that new push. I’m still putting the finishing touches to the layout, which should be finished shortly. If you have bookmarks and links from the old blog, you’ll notice you’re automatically redirected to this one. (If you’re experiencing difficulties with the redirect, please let me know.) If you head over to acuteanglebooks.co.uk, you’ll see that it has also had a major overhaul, with a new look and much more user-friendly layout. It’s also now fully compatible with mobile devices, which has long been a bugbear!

I have also been busy working on the books themselves, and will be revealing some exciting changes in an upcoming blog post very soon. Although work has still to be started in earnest on Part Three of the trilogy, all being well that work should start in the next month or so with the aim of publishing in Spring 2015.

As well as publishing Part Three, I’m also hoping to push ahead with another aspect of the project, and that’s researching Gramps’s background in more detail. September marks the 70th anniversary of the Battle of Arnhem, which Gramps fought in and forms the backdrop to the opening sequences in Pegasus Falling.

Aside from knowing Private William Edward Thomas was there, I know very little about his involvement, and I’m hoping to do some digging and see what I can find out. Again, stay tuned, because the fruits of my research will be posted here.

As ever, I love to hear from readers and fellow bloggers, so please get in touch and let me know what you think of the new blog and website, and if there’s anything you’d like to see added.

Happy reading!

Mike

Leave a Reply

